Raise Your Hand…If You’re Shy, or Not?

Standard

I was the shyest kid in my kindergarten class. I remember feeling like everyone was always watching me and always judging me, even if they weren’t. It was like a snake curled up around my brain slowly squeezing me into oblivion and total embarrassment.

One day I went to school; the day seemed like any other. I was sitting in my seat in class when I felt the urge to go. Usually, I would get up and go to the bathroom when I was at home. But this day, while at school, I froze. Every time anyone had to go, they would have to raise their hand and ask the teacher. And every time this ever happened, all the other kids would stare at them and whisper. I just hated that. For some reason, I hate to be the center of attention. Maybe I think people are talking about me, but not in a good way.

Well, I continued to ignore my need to pee until I couldn’t anymore. That’s when I felt a warm wetness spreading through my pants and dampening my chair I was sitting in. I was so painfully shy that I didn’t speak up. I was trying to pretend that nothing was wrong. I’m not sure what happened after that. I assume my teacher had seen what happened and discreetly took care of me. My mother came later and took me home.

Does anyone have an embarrassing moment to share? Line up and let it out.

– Carol

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Raise Your Hand…If You’re Shy, or Not?

  1. I was very shy, too. If I had to get up in front of class, I usually tripped on my feet, or something. Oral book reports were stressful. I made myself physically ill with anxiety. I don’t remember having an accident, though, so I guess I was lucky!

    Like

Leave your thoughts

